WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic
04-16-2019, 12:02 PM
Post: #1
Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic
https://imgur.com/a/YZbf2ga

It records the traffic under the summary, but it does not get pulsed.
I assume it counts as Local Traffic.

In this particular case i was syncing to Google Drive.

Is this a router setting i need to change for the internet traffic to be counted correctly or something similar?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2019, 07:59 PM
Post: #2
RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic
https://imgur.com/a/z919dpX

Prime example of what's going on.
And it's not my PC. Same thing on 3 different PC's.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2019, 08:35 PM
Post: #3
RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic
No reply from Devs or anything. I wont continue with Premium and uninstall.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-28-2019, 12:34 PM
Post: #4
RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic
I have a similar problem - with all PCs and Linux/Windows. Above a certain speed, traffic is not counted. Started realizing it when my internet became faster than ~200MBit. So above something like 20MByte per second it suddenly is not counted at all - I suspect that the library being used can't cope with that amount of data - or it's a safety thing. I also noticed more memory leaking (it got better over time - the early client was a real problem there) the faster you transfer data. Found that out by using FileZilla and activating speed limits.

I guess the problem would only solve itself if network traffic would not be inspected anymore and all traffic would be counted equally, it being internal or external - that would just require reading the information from the network interface.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2019, 08:30 AM
Post: #5
RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic
Would be nice to hear something from the Devs.
But people with +1 PB upload can't really have that restriction imposed on them.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2019, 08:39 AM
Post: #6
RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic
Well... I looked at the top guy and it looks plausible... -> max. I could see was 50GB download in an hour from one pc -> ~14MB per second, that falls below 20MB per second.
The guy has 5 PCs -> each of them could be running at e.g. 15MB per second and it would add up over time. Traffic monitoring is a feature for years now...

I also noticed that it depends a bit on the hardware and OS. newer pc could handle a bit more... but that might also just be either a coincidence or me not measuring properly Wink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-05-2019, 02:19 PM
Post: #7
RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic
My computer cannot log in the client, could you please help me to solve it
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-13-2019, 10:48 AM
Post: #8
RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic
(05-05-2019 02:19 PM)Aron77 Wrote:  My computer cannot log in the client, could you please help me to solve it
What does that have to do with my thread?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-22-2019, 05:35 PM
Post: #9
RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic
You could try exchanging WinPcap with Npcap. https://nmap.org/npcap/
WinPcap does not support NDIS 6.0 which is used since Windows 7 and so traffic can slip through.

On the WinPcap page you are also referred to Npcap, which I have been using for several months now and have no problems with it. (No guarantee)
Quit WhatPulse -> uninstall WinPcap -> install Npcap and start WhatPulse. Maybe a restart if it doesn't work immediately.

Here you can also find the hints of the WinPcap developer: https://www.winpcap.org/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Cannot start WhatPulse using Ubuntu 19.10 Adrriii 1 67 11-01-2019 02:37 PM
Last Post: Adrriii
  Whatpulse crash [GoT]Jewest 3 189 10-28-2019 01:18 PM
Last Post: [GoT]Jewest
  Updating from jessie to buster breaks whatpulse [GoT]Jewest 2 187 10-28-2019 01:17 PM
Last Post: [GoT]Jewest
  Server error: Missing input! with whatpulse 2.8.4 on Win10 Franck.Dernoncourt 3 545 09-24-2019 10:56 PM
Last Post: kolah
  Whatpulse isn't running after upgrading Ubuntu 1geeky 0 215 08-06-2019 05:46 AM
Last Post: 1geeky
  WhatPulse 64bit install on Lubuntu 19.04 SiKTheGreatOne 0 363 06-30-2019 02:49 AM
Last Post: SiKTheGreatOne
  WhatPulse not opening on Manjaro Linux (Arch distro) tboxley 4 762 05-26-2019 11:30 AM
Last Post: FamilienVater
  Whatpulse won't start, Unable to install crashRpt! Bai.Bing 0 305 05-24-2019 01:02 PM
Last Post: Bai.Bing
Exclamation giving pcap permissions breaks whatpulse ajencks1 0 397 04-18-2019 01:08 AM
Last Post: ajencks1
  [Edited] Whatpulse does not work with libssl-dev 1.1.0 jhepburn 4 4,066 03-07-2017 11:11 PM
Last Post: swissboney3

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)