WhatPulse Forums » Community » Beta client » Archive v » WhatPulse 2.7b2 Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
WhatPulse 2.7b2
01-08-2016, 10:20 PM
Post: #1
WhatPulse 2.7b2
Due to the excellent feedback received on the first beta of 2.7, the second beta is packed with all kinds of good stuff!

Client API
This is the third major feature on 2.7 and enables developers to grab real-time data from the client and use that data inside their own application. More information will follow on a new website called Developer Center which will feature explanations of both the Client & Web API, plus example code. For now, open your browser to http://localhost:3490 to explore (after enabling the Client API in your settings, as it's turned off by default).

Network Data
There have been several improvements to the network data; the interfaces, application and traffic types stats have all gotten time selectors so you can browse historic data on all three stats. You can now customise the names of the traffic types by creating a custom CSV (more on that in a separate forum post).

More
There's a bunch more, check out the release notes for the full list.

Downloads:
You can also use the updater if you have the "check for betas" option enabled.

- Windows: http://static.whatpulse.org/files/beta/w...-2.7b2.exe
- OS X: http://static.whatpulse.org/files/beta/w...-2.7b2.dmg

Changes:
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2016, 01:47 AM (This post was last modified: 01-09-2016 02:39 AM by Inquizitor.)
Post: #2
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2
Quote:/v1/pulse POST Execute a pulse

Does this mean that I can make all of my devices pulse remotely?

Also, it'd be great if wildcards (*) worked with the API access control list (if for example I wanted to whitelist 192.0.* to allow any client/application on my LAN to access the API)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2016, 01:42 PM
Post: #3
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2
(01-09-2016 01:47 AM)Inquizitor Wrote:  
Quote:/v1/pulse POST Execute a pulse
Does this mean that I can make all of my devices pulse remotely?

Yep! As long as you have access network-wise, you'll be able to pulse remotely. I'm actually working on an example where I have a physical button that can do a pulse. :-)

(01-09-2016 01:47 AM)Inquizitor Wrote:  Also, it'd be great if wildcards (*) worked with the API access control list (if for example I wanted to whitelist 192.0.* to allow any client/application on my LAN to access the API)

Noted!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2016, 02:34 PM (This post was last modified: 01-09-2016 02:28 PM by Wopian.)
Post: #4
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2
Quote:This is the third major feature on 2.7 and enables developers to grab real-time data from the client and use that data inside their own application

Sweet now I can have real-time stats on my homepage whenever I get round to actually making it.



The Traffic Types panel freezes (and sometimes goes non-responsive) when switching to it and it takes forever for it to scroll down when clicking on the scrollbar/mousewheel - if it ever does. (Windows 10 Pro)

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2016, 06:10 PM
Post: #5
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2
(01-09-2016 01:47 AM)Inquizitor Wrote:  
Quote:/v1/pulse POST Execute a pulse
Does this mean that I can make all of my devices pulse remotely?
For what will this nessesary? You can only type at one pc at once Wink Thought monitoring servers and non user machines is not welcome here?

The new version seems not scaling correct on realtime bandwitdh.

The insert into post seems not working (at least in edge)


Attached File(s)
.png  Realtime bw.png (Size: 63.4 KB / Downloads: 135)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2016, 08:57 PM
Post: #6
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2
(01-09-2016 06:10 PM)Megachip Wrote:  
(01-09-2016 01:47 AM)Inquizitor Wrote:  Does this mean that I can make all of my devices pulse remotely?
For what will this nessesary? You can only type at one pc at once Wink Thought monitoring servers and non user machines is not welcome here?

One such case that I'll be using:

1. You have your personal computer(s).
2. You go out of the house
3. You get your phone out and sent a pulse request to (all) your PC(s) at home
4. Profit.

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2016, 10:40 AM (This post was last modified: 01-12-2016 06:44 AM by Drake356.)
Post: #7
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2
A concern I have noticed is that while torrenting various things is that the database of my new (old) computer has become massive in size the a very short time span. The database is nearing 160 MiB after 5 days of uptime with just network and uptime as compared to my current desktop build with 30 days of uptime and a database under 12 MiB. This massive size due to the huge number of parts and data for each of them also seems to be what causes the client to freeze for minutes at a time while trying to load the list of ports.

Update: 2 days later and I'm up to 285 MiB
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2016, 08:53 AM (This post was last modified: 01-14-2016 08:58 AM by Megachip.)
Post: #8
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2
Auto/Manual update on OS X did not detect b2.

Zoom in Build 1316 (in country map on windows) is still ab bit unhandily.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-15-2016, 07:13 PM
Post: #9
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2
(01-10-2016 10:40 AM)Drake356 Wrote:  A concern I have noticed is that while torrenting various things is that the database of my new (old) computer has become massive in size the a very short time span.

Could you share your db file with me so I can have a look at the data that's being stored? I knew it could get big (and there's going to be a 'delete older than x weeks/months' option), but that's way larger than I expected.

Upload it to a Dropbox-like share and send me the link privately (martijn@whatpulse.org)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-15-2016, 07:15 PM
Post: #10
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2
(01-14-2016 08:53 AM)Megachip Wrote:  Auto/Manual update on OS X did not detect b2.
Zoom in Build 1316 (in country map on windows) is still ab bit unhandily.

The first one is my bad; I didn't version the beta 1 build properly. I labeled it 2.7b1 internally, which should've been 2.6.3-xxxx

Second one...would it be possible for you to create a small video clip and put that somewhere? I've looked into that in b1 and thought I fixed it (it was zooming properly in testing)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  WhatPulse 2.7.2b1 smitmartijn 13 2,050 12-04-2016 07:36 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.7b3 smitmartijn 17 4,189 06-07-2016 11:37 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.7b1 smitmartijn 17 4,390 01-05-2016 08:24 AM
Last Post: Megachip
  WhatPulse 2.6b5 smitmartijn 14 6,557 08-04-2015 05:12 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.6b4 smitmartijn 14 5,977 04-24-2015 01:43 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.6b3 Megachip 9 3,280 04-07-2015 07:15 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.6b2 smitmartijn 10 6,543 03-25-2015 01:17 PM
Last Post: Megachip
  WhatPulse 2.6b1 smitmartijn 21 8,673 03-14-2015 05:56 PM
Last Post: commentator
  WhatPulse 2.4.1b4 smitmartijn 5 4,246 09-29-2014 04:06 AM
Last Post: Godric
  WhatPulse 2.4.1b3 smitmartijn 8 7,962 09-09-2014 07:29 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)