WhatPulse Forums » Community » General Discussion v » Network statistics Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Network statistics
06-02-2014, 12:30 PM
Post: #1
Network statistics
Hello,

During installation of WhatPulse, I didn't install the required software for network statistics, but now I would like to use network statistics as well.

But, interesting fact is that WhatPulse is counting my network bandwith, but it isn't being added to total UP and DOWN nor being pulsed, look at the screenshoots:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9gzmgtkzkcbr7w...142531.png
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xkq3dc4o7q0lh2...142708.png

It's displayed inside client but not in "unpulsed" section. Now I pulsed manually but as You can see on my profile, it still says 0 MB : http://whatpulse.org/XploD

Where is the problem? How come that it's counting my traffic? Is it maybe because I'm using DU Meter?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-02-2014, 06:11 PM
Post: #2
RE: Network statistics
The winpcap library needs to be installed on the maching you're running WhatPulse on. You can get it from here: https://www.winpcap.org/install/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2014, 10:20 AM (This post was last modified: 06-04-2014 09:55 PM by XploD.)
Post: #3
RE: Network statistics
Thank you for your response. But how come that WhatPulse was meassuring my network usage even before I installed WinpCAP? It was meassuring fine and correctly (I compared it to DU Meter results, there were only minor deviations). The only problem was that this results weren't being pulsed to webiste. Whith WinpCAP it pulses it but it meassuers my network with or without WinpCAP.

DU meter also works without WinpCAP (probably has it's own snuffing software)?

EDIT: after installing WinpCAP it counts double of real value.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-05-2014, 07:09 AM
Post: #4
RE: Network statistics
WinPCap allows the site to store your uploaded Network Statistics, I think. Otherwise, your stats on the site would remain at 0 MB for both Upload and Download.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-07-2014, 11:40 AM
Post: #5
RE: Network statistics
The client reverts to the same method DU meter works when there's no pcap. That method cannot tell the difference between internet traffic and local traffic and we only use internet traffic on the website, which is why the client does not count when there's no pcap.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Network Card not detected. daddy_home 1 1,616 01-15-2017 12:02 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Whatpulse Network for iOS and Android? SeeEmAge 6 5,694 11-30-2013 07:24 PM
Last Post: maxorq
  Any meaningful statistics? tophee 4 6,356 03-06-2013 11:54 PM
Last Post: Dark_wizzie

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)