WhatPulse Forums
Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - Printable Version

+- WhatPulse Forums (http://whatpulse.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+--- Forum: Client software (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Thread: Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart (/showthread.php?tid=6497)

Pages: 1 2


Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - Robby250 - 05-13-2015 03:42 PM

This has been happening ever since the update to the database version from 5 to 6 or whatever. For a while after I install the newer version, using the old database, it works just fine. Then after a few client restarts, be it manually, or through computer restarts, it just doesn't want to start anymore, requiring me to delete the old database and .wpw files.

On the clients with the old database, 2.6b2 or older, if whatpulse refused to start for whatever reason, even telling me that the database is corrupted and can't be restored, all I had to do was cut the .db and .db.backup files on the desktop, launch whatpulse in order to generate a new database, close whatpulse, then overlap the newly generated database with my old one, then it would continue to work flawlessly as if nothing had happened. On the newer clients this doesn't work anymore, it wants a new database every time the client is restarted. I'll stick with 2.6b2 until (if) this is fixed.

OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 bit
Winpcap is installed properly, whatpulse is running as administrator, the app.log can be found here: http://puu.sh/hLRve/c9f19b6719.log (I've already reinstalled 2.6b2 before uploading this)


RE: Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - TehMoff - 05-13-2015 09:24 PM

I think I'm experiencing a very similar/the same problem after updating from 2.5 to 2.6.
After the first reboot after install, the program refuses to start. I don't get any kind of error message though, nothing simply happens when I try to start WhatPulse.

(Windows 7 Pro 64-bit)


RE: Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - Shadcr - 05-14-2015 07:34 AM

Having the same issue here with v2.6. 2.5 worked fine but the new version fails to start every time until I delete the db and wpw files. Does anybody know download links for the older versions?


RE: Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - michalpol - 05-14-2015 09:15 AM

I also have the same issue, but for me deleting wpw files without deleting db helped. Previous version worked fine.


RE: Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - Robby250 - 05-14-2015 10:11 AM

(05-13-2015 09:24 PM)TehMoff Wrote:  After the first reboot after install, the program refuses to start. I don't get any kind of error message though, nothing simply happens when I try to start WhatPulse.

Yeah, the exact same thing happens to me with 2.6, the error message I was talking about with the database corruption would happen extremely rarely with 2.5 or older versions after a blue screen for example, and it used to be easily fixable without losing the database.


RE: Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - AmokOwe - 05-14-2015 11:24 AM

2.6 won't run at all on my PC but it works fine on my laptop.

Where can I download an older version of WhatPulse that I can use on my PC until things get sorted?

FFS... I just tried uninstalling and re-installing WhatPulse (I said that it shouldn't delte my database like I usually do when re-installing this - it's not the first time) and now I lost all my WhatPulse data from my PC... WTF happened? I had over 6 million keys and about 2-3 million clicks on here.

This is the last screenshot I have of any of my stats on my PC: https://i.imgur.com/0RhB8iH.png

Now it just looks like this: https://i.imgur.com/mm7Liz8.png

https://i.imgur.com/lCXRYMc.png

Sad


RE: Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - Robby250 - 05-14-2015 12:26 PM

(05-14-2015 11:24 AM)Bbuullll33rr Wrote:  FFS... I just tried uninstalling and re-installing WhatPulse (I said that it shouldn't delte my database like I usually do when re-installing this - it's not the first time) and now I lost all my WhatPulse data from my PC... WTF happened? I had over 6 million keys and about 2-3 million clicks on here.
The same thing happened to my old data when I tried whatpulse 2.6b4, I've mentioned this exact issue during the beta feedback thread but it just got discarded as user error or something, nothing was done about it.

Ever since then I've been backing up my appdata whatpulse folder when updating to a new beta version to check if the issue was gone, it wasn't but I stopped mentioning it since apparently my feedback is useless because my PC has some kind of bad voodoo that makes everything break.


RE: Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - cartman2000 - 05-14-2015 06:20 PM

Well I have the same problem, the only way that I can get it to start is by using a backup WPF file that was from the 2.5 version. It's probably the same kind of crash that people are getting on linux and mac, although there's no crash dump or error generated in the windows version, it just silently closes out.

There's no error in the log file, but the last entry in it is on the WPF file when it is starting up.
Code:
14-05-2015 09:23:12.394  INFO "Starting WhatPulse 2.6..."
14-05-2015 09:23:12.473 DEBUG Installed CrashRpt!
14-05-2015 09:23:12.497 DEBUG Database file:  "O:/Users/xxxxx/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.db"
14-05-2015 09:23:12.740 DEBUG Database check:  "ok"
14-05-2015 09:23:12.741 DEBUG Opened database in:  244 ms
14-05-2015 09:23:12.745 DEBUG Running WhatPulse as Administrator! :-)
14-05-2015 09:23:12.745 DEBUG Encrypted file:  "O:/Users/xxxxx/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.wpw"



RE: Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - Olslov - 05-14-2015 10:37 PM

Same problem here! Whatpulse doesnt work anymore after a restart. I moved back to 2.5 on my laptop


RE: Whatpulse 2.6 requires a new database every restart - AmokOwe - 05-15-2015 07:11 AM

(05-14-2015 10:37 PM)Olslov Wrote:  Same problem here! Whatpulse doesnt work anymore after a restart. I moved back to 2.5 on my laptop

Can you share the installer for 2.5? Smile Can't find it anywhere.

Okay, found it: http://amcdn.whatpulse.org/files/whatpulse-win-2.5.exe