WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » Virtualbox traffic appears as avast traffic Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Virtualbox traffic appears as avast traffic
10-21-2013, 01:13 PM
Post: #1
Virtualbox traffic appears as avast traffic
For some reason, in per app bandwidth, Virtualbox's network traffic is seen as avast's network traffic. I do have avast installed, but why is Whatpulse thinking avast is doing the traffic, not Virtualbox?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-21-2013, 06:12 PM
Post: #2
RE: Virtualbox traffic appears as avast traffic
The client looks for the internet stream and the program that opened it, is it possible that you're using avast as a firewall? It may proxy all traffic through the program, which basically means avast is actually the one doing the traffic..
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-21-2013, 07:07 PM
Post: #3
RE: Virtualbox traffic appears as avast traffic
(10-21-2013 06:12 PM)smitmartijn Wrote:  The client looks for the internet stream and the program that opened it, is it possible that you're using avast as a firewall? It may proxy all traffic through the program, which basically means avast is actually the one doing the traffic..

Unless VirtualBox is set up to proxy through avast automatically, I don't think so. All other applications appear just fine under per-app bandwidth, just not VirtualBox.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-22-2013, 04:28 AM
Post: #4
RE: Virtualbox traffic appears as avast traffic
I've experienced this myself. It's a 'feature' of the Web Shield component of Avast.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic Lodisen 8 1,365 05-22-2019 05:35 PM
Last Post: Trapton
  [CLOSED] Network traffic not recorded on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS GnaXi 4 1,839 09-15-2016 03:33 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [CLOSED] Mac client, network traffic reading but not pulsing dacheat 1 1,081 05-23-2016 02:11 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [SOLVED] Windows 10, WinPcap and Internet traffic Sm00chY 7 5,004 03-21-2016 05:50 PM
Last Post: Wynand
  [SOLVED] Network traffic doesn't show up in unpulsed soldierrro 2 1,670 07-24-2015 06:29 PM
Last Post: soldierrro
  [Win8.1 x64, Pulse 2.5] Network device detected as inactive, traffic not tracked Strazdas 6 4,232 01-26-2015 11:29 AM
Last Post: Strazdas
  Network traffic numbers way off on Linux 404d 1 2,205 09-09-2014 07:01 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WP 2.0 - no traffic over USB LTE Stick kbot 18 16,300 02-02-2014 11:06 PM
Last Post: kbot
  v. 2.2 doesn't count internet traffic correctly eTheBlack 18 19,087 12-22-2013 08:04 PM
Last Post: FamilienVater
  Network Traffic Unpulsed? hiandbaii 1 3,399 10-07-2013 06:05 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)