WhatPulse Forums
[CLOSED] Plasma + Couldn't detect any system tray on this system - Printable Version

+- WhatPulse Forums (http://whatpulse.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+--- Forum: Client software (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Thread: [CLOSED] Plasma + Couldn't detect any system tray on this system (/showthread.php?tid=6807)



[CLOSED] Plasma + Couldn't detect any system tray on this system - Posergoth6667 - 07-18-2015 11:26 PM

Hi,

I can't run WhatPulse because it throws me the following error message using the KDE Plasma desktop system:

Couldn't detect any system tray on this system


RE: Plasma + Couldn't detect any system tray on this system - smitmartijn - 07-21-2015 05:42 PM

If this is on startup, delay the client execution for a minute or so. It'll detect the system tray when the window manager is fully loaded.

If it's when the wm is fully running, then KDE Plasma desktop is simply not supported, unless another community member knows a workaround.


RE: [CLOSED] Plasma + Couldn't detect any system tray on this system - Eevee - 11-20-2015 02:27 AM

KDE 5's system tray use some newfangled protocol. According to a KDE dev there's a library and patch for Qt 4 to make it work: http://blog.martin-graesslin.com/blog/2014/06/where-are-my-systray-icons/

Until WhatPulse is fixed, you could run the free-floating system tray wmsystemtray: http://alien.slackbook.org/blog/support-for-old-school-xembed-system-tray-icons-in-plasma-5/